Foreign buyers flock to Garrards to purchase an iconic design

Started by TLLK, January 14, 2017, 09:47:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TLLK

Chinese and Russians queue up for replica of Princess Diana's sapphire and diamond engagement ring

The firm makes it clear that they're not making an exact copy of the original, but the new ones are similar and very popular. :)

Duch_Luver_4ever

Well, its close-ish, im no jewelry expert being a guy, but I dont like the metal surrounding the diamonds(are they real, i didnt read). Maybe thats an odd thing to pick out, idk, but theres just something about the original, that cant be copied (even though the original one was ordered off catalogue).
"No other member of the Royal Family mattered that year, or I think for the next 17 years, it was just her." Arthur Edwards, The Sun Photographer, talking about Diana's impact.

royalanthropologist

I don't know. I have always thought that was a ring of doom. Apparently Diana was asked to pick out what she wanted from a set with no input from her husband. The mother-in-law paid the bill. Sounds romantic...NOT.  Just says it all really about the foundation of that marriage.
"In the past, people were born royal. Nowadays, royalty comes from what you do"...Gianni Versace

Duch_Luver_4ever

Very true on the romantic aspect of the rings origin, and its foreshadowing of events, in hindsight. IDK if it should have been thrown in a volcano or not, but its so entwined with its original owner, I tend to have more happy memories of her, rather than it reminding me of the result of the marriage, which I guess it should, considering the rings purpose, but whatta ya gonna do^^.

"No other member of the Royal Family mattered that year, or I think for the next 17 years, it was just her." Arthur Edwards, The Sun Photographer, talking about Diana's impact.

royalanthropologist